Reviews of Dark Fiction

The Blacktongue Thief, written & narrated by Christopher Buehlman

After recently finishing an audio re-read of THE LESSER DEAD, narrated by this author, I knew I had to get the audio of his latest book: THE BLACKTONGUE THIEF. I pre-ordered it so I could have it on release day, but then I found the audio available on NetGalley and here we are!

This narration is as great as I hoped and maybe even a little better. I already knew that Christopher Buehlman is a talented narrator, but here his performance is flat out phenomenal. Tackling several difference kinds of accents and languages must be very difficult, but Mr. Buehlman makes it all sound so easy. I found myself laughing out loud many times and I love that blind cat even more, after I heard the narrator’s “Rao.”

I’ve actually received an e-ARC of this book as well, which I read a few months back. This tale is truly an epic fantasy with all the hallmarks of the genre. Maps, different countries, languages and cultures. All the different creatures living in these different countries, along with witches, giants, krakens and kitties are all described so well, it feels like I know them. (The kraken portion of this story was so tense and yet, kind of funny too.)

And of course, like most of the best fantasies, we have magic; magic that shows up in all sorts of unexpected ways and in unexpected things…like cats or tattoos.

My original review of the book can be found here:

The Blacktongue Thief by Christopher Buehlman

Once again, Christopher Buhelman has knocked my socks off and maybe my knickers too! If you’re not reading his work, you are truly missing out. His stories are always exciting, always unique and always entertaining. I am finding that this is true of his narrations as well. There is nothing like listening to a skilled narrator performing his own work. I’m giving this audio ALL THE STARS!!

Available everywhere 5.25.21!

*Thank you to Macmillan Audio and NetGalley for the free audio download in exchange for my honest feedback. This is it!*

The Blacktongue Thief Book Cover The Blacktongue Thief
The Blacktongue Thief #1
Christopher Buehlman
Fantasy, Humorous Fantasy, Epic Fantasy, Dark Fantasy
MacMillan Audio
05/25/2021
Audio
12 hours, 26 minutes
NetGalley

Christopher Buehlman's The Blacktongue Thief is a voicey-as-hell, standout fantasy debut for fans of Nicholas Eames' Kings of the Wyld and Joe Abercrombie's The Blade Itself.

Kinch Na Shannack owes the Takers Guild a small fortune for his education as a thief, which includes (but is not limited to) lock-picking, knife-fighting, wall-scaling, fall-breaking, lie-weaving, trap-making, plus a few small magics. His debt has driven him to lie in wait by the old forest road, planning to rob the next traveler that crosses his path.

But today, Kinch Na Shannack has picked the wrong mark.

Galva is a knight, a survivor of the brutal goblin wars, and handmaiden of the goddess of death. She is searching for her queen, missing since a distant northern city fell to giants.

Unsuccessful in his robbery and lucky to escape with his life, Kinch now finds his fate entangled with Galva's. Common enemies and uncommon dangers force thief and knight on an epic journey where goblins hunger for human flesh, krakens hunt in dark waters, and honor is a luxury few can afford.

A Macmillan Audio production from Tor Books.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *