Reviews of dark fiction (Under Construction)

The Last House on Needless Street by Catriona Ward

Rarely do I struggle to find words about a book that I loved, but I find myself in that position right now. THE LAST HOUSE ON NEEDLESS STREET blew me away.

There are many narratives here and several threads to follow-most of which lead down spoiler lane. But after mulling it over, here is what I’ve come up with:

This tale is beautifully written and I was immediately drawn to these characters and making assumptions about them. The author’s skills in character building are nearly unmatched, and I had clear pictures in my head of all of them. Them being: Ted the awkward man who’s overweight, and lives in a boarded up house; Lauren, Ted’s daughter, who is rarely seen outside because it’s much safer for her inside; Olivia, Ted’s cat. Olivia likes to read the bible, worship the lord, nuzzle up to Ted and she doesn’t go outside either. Lastly, there’s Dee whose sister disappeared back when Dee was a teenager and that event has loomed over her life ever since, like a huge dark joy-sucking shadow.

The entire book is written in such a way that the mysteries keep piling up and the reader begins to wonder how all these secrets are going to be disclosed before the story comes to an end. But have no doubt, dear reader, when these secrets are unleashed it will leave you off centered and a bit stunned.

A sublime book of psychological dark fiction, both beautifully crafted and well told, I know that I’ll be reading this book again. Even though it has already divulged all of its secrets to me, there is a certain joy in reading thoughtful, powerful prose. Beyond the enjoyment of the story itself, is the joy of words and how they are put together to create a flawless narrative. A narrative that, in the end, may have made this black-hearted horror lover break down and cry. Maybe.

You know what? I just can’t do this book justice with my measly words. so I’ll just say that THE LAST HOUSE ON NEEDLESS STREET has earned my highest recommendation!

Thank you so very much to Tor/Nighfire and to NetGalley for the e-ARC. paperback ARC and the audio ARC in exchange for my honest feedback. This is it!

The Last House on Needless Street Book Cover The Last House on Needless Street
Catriona Ward
Psychological Fiction, Thriller, Mystery, Dark Fiction
Tor/Nightfire
09/28/2021
Paperback
352

Catriona Ward's The Last House on Needless Street is a shocking and immersive read perfect for fans of Gone Girl and The Haunting of Hill House.

“The new face of literary dark fiction.” —Sarah Pinborough, New York Times bestselling author of Behind Her Eyes

"The buzz...is real. I've read it and was blown away. It's a true nerve-shredder that keeps its mind-blowing secrets to the very end." —Stephen King

In a boarded-up house on a dead-end street at the edge of the wild Washington woods lives a family of three. A teenage girl who isn’t allowed outside, not after last time. A man who drinks alone in front of his TV, trying to ignore the gaps in his memory. And a house cat who loves napping and reading the Bible. An unspeakable secret binds them together, but when a new neighbor moves in next door, what is buried out among the birch trees may come back to haunt them all.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *