Reviews of Dark Fiction

City on Fire by Don Winslow

Give me a cold winter weekend with The Godfather, Goodfellas and Casino and I’m a happy woman. When I discovered that Don Winslow was writing a trilogy involving the Irish and the Italian mob, set in 1980’s Providence, R.I., I couldn’t get to NetGalley fast enough. Now, I’ve read it and I can conclusively say, Don Winslow can write about crime, the mafia, drug lords and cartels better than nearly anyone out there today.

Throughout history beautiful women have sown discord and spawned wars, and here one tears apart a family, and The Family as well. Before they even knew what hit them, (see what I did there?), questions of family loyalty, seething resentments, obligations and responsibilities vie for your attention, along with car bombs, ambushes, and violence at the drop of a hat. With a protagonist you can root for, in spite of what he is forced to do, CITY ON FIRE is exactly the gritty crime story I expected from Don Winslow.

For me, characters are just about everything. I love when they grow and change. I love when they’re conflicted or angry or crying-whether I love the character themselves or not, I love being privy to their trains of thought. I think that’s one of Stephen King’s greatest talents, and I think Winslow has that magic too.

A modern day Helen of Troy can be just as disruptive as the original, and I can’t wait to see what happens next in this trilogy!

Highly recommended!

Thank you to Netgalley and William Morrow Co., for the eARC in exchange for my honest feedback. This is it!

City on Fire Book Cover City on Fire
Don Winslow
Crime, Dark Fiction, Thriller
William Morrow
4/26/2022
E-Arc
384
NetGalley

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of the Cartel Trilogy (The Power of the Dog, The Cartel, and The Border), The Force, and Broken comes the first novel in an epic new trilogy.

“Superb. City on Fire is exhilarating.” – Stephen King

"Epic, ambitious, majestic, City on Fire is The Godfather for our generation.” – Adrian McKinty, New York Times bestselling author of The Chain

Two criminal empires together control all of New England.

Until a beautiful woman comes between the Irish and the Italians, launching a war that will see them kill each other, destroy an alliance, and set a city on fire.

Danny Ryan yearns for a more “legit” life and a place in the sun. But as the bloody conflict stacks body on body and brother turns against brother, Danny has to rise above himself. To save the friends he loves like family and the family he has sworn to protect, he becomes a leader, a ruthless strategist, and a master of a treacherous game in which the winners live and the losers die.

From the gritty streets of Providence to the glittering screens of Hollywood to the golden casinos of Las Vegas, two rival crime families ignite a war that will leave only one standing. The winner will forge a dynasty.

Exploring the classic themes of loyalty, betrayal, and honor, City on Fire is a contemporary masterpiece in the tradition of The Godfather, Casino, and Goodfellas—a thrilling saga from Don Winslow, “America’s greatest living crime writer” (Jon Land, Providence Journal).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.